Skip to main content


March 10, 2023

Blackened progressive metal quintet DAWN OF OUROBOROS have today shared their new single, Velvet Moon, and an accompanying music video. Velvet Moon is the second track to be taken from the Oakland, CA based band’s forthcoming sophomore album, Velvet Incandescence, due out via Prosthetic Records on April 21.

Stream Velvet Moon via Apple Music | TIDAL | Deezer | Bandcamp and Spotify
Pre-order Velvet Incandescence here.

Speaking on the single and music video, DAWN OF OUROBOROS‘ Tony Thomas (guitar / synths) comments: “Velvet Moon is the final track on our upcoming album. We felt it was best to end Velvet Incandescence with it as it has a strong sense of nostalgia associated with it. We also felt it is the most cinematic of the tracks on the album, as it steadily builds up in intensity, reaches a climax, and then concludes with a strong sense of finality.”

Formed in 2018 by Tony Thomas (Botanist, Cailleach Calling) and vocalist Chelsea Murphy (Cailleach Calling, Tegmentum), DAWN OF OUROBOROS’ formative years saw the band solidify their core lineup to a five-piece before releasing their debut album, The Art of Morphology, in 2020. The Art of Morphology showcased the young band’s penchant for hybridising the extreme and canorous qualities of progressive, atmospheric black and death metal, ushering in a warm reception from both fans and critics.

Invigorated by the response to their debut album DAWN OF OUROBOROS came together in November 2021 to commence recording of Velvet Incandescence, once again opting to team up with Nick Loiacono at Fang Studios in San Mateo, CA for recording and mixing, before being mastered by Jack Shirley (Deafheaven, Oathbreaker, Bosse De Nage) at The Atomic Garden Studio. Placing an emphasis on melody and feel above technical virtuosity, Velvet Incandescence’s eight tracks revel in sanguine triumph both musically and lyrically.

Album highlights Rise from Disillusion and Iron Whispers both rise and fall with a beguilingly ethereal quality, thanks to additional vocals provided in the form of a choir. Elsewhere, precise and calculated bursts of tremolo picking and resplendent lead guitar from both Thomas and Ian Baker (Red Rot) coalesce in dizzying fashion on Testudines. Rhythmically bolstered by the talents of David Scanlon (Deliria) on bass and Ron Bertrand (Botanist, Red Rot) on drums, album closer Velvet Moon musically encompasses Velvet Incandescence’s dual nature of serenity and volatility.

Both lyrically and vocally, DAWN OF OUROBOROS’ Chelsea Murphy interfuses a deeply personal approach with the cosmic and universally human need for healing and a feeling of home across the album’s 46 minute runtime, with tactful hope and heart at the forefront of all things over solemnity and resignation. The thematic melding of the universal and personal is conveyed in arresting fashion by album cover artist Jilly Colbert at Manfish Inc.

Three years on from their debut statement, DAWN OF OUROBOROS’ latest offering refines and redefines their sound. Velvet Incandescence will no doubt serve as a luminous spark for the quintet’s increasingly bright future.

DAWN OF OUROBOROS Velvet Incandescence album release tour
w/ Ashbringer
21 April – Thee Parkside – San Francisco, CA
22 April – Supply and Demand – Los Angeles, CA
23 April – Til Two Club – San Diego, CA
24 April – Yucca – Phoenix, AZ
25 April – Kilby Court – Salt Lake City, UT
26 April – The Shredder – Boise, ID
27 April – The Plaid Pig – Tacoma, WA
28 April – Substation – Seattle, WA
29 April – Mano Oculta – Portland, OR