Skip to main content


February 16, 2022

Following last month’s announcement of their upcoming sophomore album, It’s Time… To Rise From The Grave, Undeath have today shared a punishing new single – titled “Head Splattered in Seven Ways”. The Rochester, NY death metal group’s fittingly bloody music video can be seen now at: “Head Splattered in Seven Ways” is the second track to be taken from It’s Time… To Rise From The Grave, set to be released via Prosthetic Records on April 22. Stream “Head Splattered in Seven Ways” and pre-order It’s Time… To Rise From The Grave here:

“Head Splattered in Seven Ways'” unnerving horror-inspired visual was once again produced by Errick Easterday, filmed at McCanns Local Meat Emporium in the band’s home of Rochester, NY.

Of the single, guitarist Kyle Beam comments:

“‘Head Splattered in Seven Ways’ is all about the number 7: There’s seven syllables in the title, it’s the seventh song on the record, the verse and chorus are in seven AND the bridge section repeats seven times. As if that wasn’t crazy enough, lyrically the song is centered around a deranged interrogation scene with a murderer that possesses psionic powers – the kind capable of making heads explode and splatter in…well, you do the math. Simply put, this is an odd-time death metal banger that you’ll snap your neck trying to headbang along to. Enjoy!”

Vocalist Alexander Jones continues:

“I’m really stoked about ‘Head Splattered in Seven Ways’. It’s definitely one of the crazier, more technically intense songs on the record, so I’m excited that we’re getting it out right after ‘Rise from the Grave’, which is by far one of the most straight forward tracks we’ve ever written. Both songs showcase the number one thing that Undeath is about, albeit in very different ways: the power of a dope riff.

Also, the video that we shot with Errick Easterday is supremely fucked up. Shoutout to McCanns Local Meats, Rochester’s premiere meat emporium, for letting us use their space (and to Mr. McCann himself for starring in the video!) If you’re ever in the area, make sure you swing by for a great banh mi and a cup of coffee.”

It’s Time… To Rise from the Grave shows the reconfigured quintet – Kyle Beam (guitars), Alexander Jones (vocals), Tommy Wall (bass), Jared Welch (guitars) and Matt Browning (drums) – have retained their mind-infecting sonic savagery but weren’t satisfied in their pursuit to improve it through wicked (yet studied) reformulation. It’s Time… To Rise from the Grave
isn’t just an early contender for death metal album of 2022 – it’s destined to be a modern-day classic.

Undeath traveled to Philadelphia to record It’s Time… To Rise from the Grave
with Scoops Dardaris at Headroom Studios in March-April 2021. Dardaris rough-mixed on the fly during the recording sessions, and then required two more weeks after to finalize the mix. Not ones to sacrifice a working team, they brought on Arthur Rizk (Creeping Death, Enforced) to master.

In four years, Undeath have done the unlikely. They have two celebrated, oft-streamed demos, a coveted Decibel flexi disc, two brutish videos (“Acidic Twilight Visions”, “Entranced by the Pendulum”), completed a riotous 30-date American tour mid-pandemic with The Black Dahlia Murder, and released a fan-obsessed full-length in Lesions of a Different Kind. To stop now would be contrary to Undeath‘s diehard, work-hardened ethos. Indeed, they’re forging ahead. It’s Time… To Rise from the Grave undoubtedly levels up Undeath. The New Yorkers are the vanguard of the next wave of hard-hearted American death metal. Join the undead army now…march or die completely!

It’s Time… To Rise From The Grave track-listing

1. Fiend For Corpses

2. Defiled Again

3. Rise From The Grave

4. Necrobionics

5. Enhancing The Dead

6. The Funeral Within

7. Head Splattered in Seven Ways

8. Human Chandelier

9. Bone Wrought

10. Trampled Headstones