Skip to main content


April 1, 2024

Chicago, IL ensemble HUNTSMEN has today announced their third album, The Dry Land, set to be released via Prosthetic Records on June 7. Alongside the album announcement, the Americana / doom metal group has shared release show details for The Dry Land, set to take place on June 7 at Sleeping Village in Chicago, IL. Further details on The Dry Land will be revealed in the coming weeks, with the band sharing a teaser for the lead single below.

Speaking on the album announcement, Ray Bueno-Knipe (drums and vocals) comments: “We are incredibly grateful to announce the release of our third full length record with our Prosthetic Records family, The Dry Land. This album is about being stuck between two opposites, echoing the collective uncertainty and confusion we’ve all felt for the past few years, and that can be heard and felt in the metallic heft and delicate stillness throughout the record. We wrote this for us to vent our anger and frustrations, to heal our wounds, and grieve our losses. We hope this can help others to do the same.”

Of the release show, Marc Stranger-Najjar (bass and vocals) adds: “After a couple of years of writing and arranging, we are overwhelmed with excitement to finally share The Dry Land with the world on June 7, including a live performance of the record in its entirety at Sleeping Village. We look forward to the incredible supporting bands (our friends Without Waves and Anatomy Of Habit), as well as sharing the experience with our dearest friends in Chicago.”

Following the release of their sophomore full-length, Mandala of Fear, in 2020 and The Dying Pines EP in 2022 HUNTSMEN’s intervening years between studio albums were marked with devastatingly contrasting highs and lows. Whilst their body of studio work continued to garner acclaim from fans and critics alike, chronic illness would become a recurring uphill battle for the ensemble. As these jarring mixed fortunes reached their apex towards the end of 2022, the band reached towards each other outside of their craft as old friends. Taking stock of four years of tribulations and through the fire, HUNTSMEN find themselves reborn on The Dry Land.

The Dry Land tracklist:

1. This, Our Gospel

2. Cruelly Dawns

3. Lean Times

4. In Time, All Things

5. Rain

6. Herbsight


Chris Kang – guitar and vocals

Aimee Bueno-Knipe – vocals

Marc Stranger-Najjar – bass and vocals

Ray Bueno-Knipe – drums and vocals

Gavin Cushman – guitar and vocals

Kirill Orlov – guitar (on The Dry Land studio recording only)