Skip to main content


September 12, 2023

Connecticut, US melodic death / doom metal group FIRES IN THE DISTANCE will be releasing an instrumental version of their acclaimed sophomore album, Air Not Meant For Us, via Prosthetic Records on October 6. Alongside the album announcement, the quartet has shared a guitar playthrough of album track Adrift Beneath the Listless Waves, featuring a guest appearance from Burial in the Sky’s James Tomedi.

FIRES IN THE DISTANCE head out on a co-headlining US tour with labelmates Dawn of Ouroboros this October – full details and dates below.

Pre-order to Air Not Meant For Us (Instrumental) via Apple Music | TIDAL | Deezer | Bandcamp and Spotify
Pre-order Air Not Meant For Us (Instrumental) here.

Speaking on the album announcement, Yegor Savonin (composition, guitars, programming, lyrics) comments: “As we get closer to closing out the year and our tour with Dawn of Ouroboros, we have one more component of our new album left to release. As with our last album, Air Not Meant For Us will be released in full instrumental format on October 6.

“Alongside the album announcement we’ve shared a playthrough video for Adrift, Beneath the Listless Waves, which was once again filmed by our friend and videographer Jayson Cessna of Astralborne, and features the masterful James Tomedi of Burial in the Sky contributing a scathing guest solo.”

Teaming up with Salt Lake City composer and producer Randy Slaugh, FIRES IN THE DISTANCE’s chief songwriter Yegor Savonin (composition, guitars, programming, lyrics) sought to reach even greater dynamics within the band’s core sound of melodic death and doom metal. With live orchestration in the form of violas, violins, cellos, as well as piano work, proving to be an incredibly fruitful collaborative process for both band and producer.

Air Not Meant For Us marks the first time the band have recorded with new drummer, Jordan Rippe, who delivers his own wide range of ornate work and feeling to the group’s established sound. Whilst drums for the album were recorded at the historic Power Station New England, the rest of the instruments were tracked at Studio Wormwood in North Carolina with returning producer, Dave Kaminsky, who handled recording and mixing in both studios.

In addition to the collaboration with Randy Slaugh, the album also features a guest appearance from Burial in the Sky guitarist James Tomedi on instrumental track Adrift, Beneath the Listless Waves, who’s deft fretwork adds an additional layer of dynamic sheen.

Kristian Grimaldi’s thunderous vocal delivery compliments the album’s composition strongly and projects the songs to a greater level of formidability. The record is rounded out by Craig Breitsprecher’s complex and serpentine bass work which weave throughout the LP with an imperative sense of cohesion.

Seeking to retain aesthetic continuity, FIRES IN THE DISTANCE once again reached out to Caelan Stokkermans for the album’s art and layout, which masterfully conveys Air Not Meant For Us’ emotional core. With a runtime of 51 minutes across six songs, FIRES IN THE DISTANCE’s sophomore effort is a melodic doom and death metal odyssey in both artistic vision and sound.

Praise for Air Not Meant For Us:

Air Not Meant For Us is sure to be a contender for 2023’s best melodic death metal LP. ” – Metal Injection

“…a cry of unignorable feeling, beautiful and strong. It deserves to be heard.” – Angry Metal Guy

FIRES IN THE DISTANCE overpower and overwhelm with sumptuous, gothic flair and a melancholic edge that will knock your teeth out.”- Blabbermouth

FIRES IN THE DISTANCE stand as one of the finest melodic death metal bands in 2023.” – Distorted Sound

“…a true metal force to be reckoned with down the road.” – Yardbarker (The Best Metal Albums From The 21st Century

“Fans of melodic death and doom metal should definitely keep an eye on FIRES IN THE DISTANCE.” –

Air Not Meant For Us is certainly an album for all lovers of music that’s as melodic as it is atmospheric…” – Hardforce

FIRES IN THE DISTANCE and DAWN OF OUROBOROS The Perserverance of Light tour dates:

04 October – Subterranean – Chicago, IL

05 October – Black Circle – Indianapolis, ID

06 October – The Vortex – Akron OH @ The Vortex

07 October – Legends – Cincinnati, OH

09 October – The End – Nashville, TN

10 October – Justice Pub – Jacksonville, FL

11 October – Brass Mug – Tampa, FL

12 October – Conduit – Orlando, FL

13 October – Boggs Social – Atlanta, GA