Skip to main content


April 11, 2024

US progressive metal band EXIST has today shared a new music video for Window To The All, the visual features footage of the band performing the track live in Charlotte, NC in January. Window To The All is taken from EXIST‘s upcoming fourth album, Hijacking the Zeitgeist, which is set for release via Prosthetic Records on Friday (April 13).

Pre-order Hijacking the Zeitgeist here.

Speaking on the music video release, Max Phelps (vocals and guitar) comments: “Window To The All is the album closer for Hijacking The Zeitgeist. It probably contains some of the most ‘tech death’ parts on the album although it’s also chock full of groove as well as a beautiful jazz fusion solo executed by Charlie Eron (our new guitarist, WAIT). Musically there’s some great interaction between Alex Weber (bass) and Brody Taylor Smith (drums) that really adds life and depth to some of the repeating riffs. Lyrically the song reflects on the limitations of our vantage points as humans and how we are all stuck within ourselves.”

EXIST’s latest full-length sees the group expand upon their established dichotomy of extreme metal technicality and sanguine atmospherics with an intentionally more concise approach to songwriting, resulting in the most direct and emphatic album of their 14 year career.

Similarly to 2020’s Egoiista, EXIST took on a keen co-production role for Hijacking the Zeitgeist as recording sessions commenced in early 2022, with the band emphasising a collaborative approach to the songs arrangements. Drum co-production was handled by John Douglass (Mr. Bungle, Entheos and The Contortionist) before vocals were handled by Mike Semesky in the winter.

Hijacking the Zeitgeist’s sonic heft isn’t without its diaphanous counterpoints, as Phelps and new addition Charles Eron (guitar and synths) craft deceptively complex interplay on album high points in Thief of Joy (featuring Sanjay Kumar of Inferi and Wormhole), Blue Light Infinite and soaring closer Window to the All. EXIST’s sonorous sonic landscape is bolstered by immersive rhythmic lock-ins between Alex Weber (bass and vocals) and Brody Smith (drums), that shine in Anup Sastry’s mix and Kris Crummett’s mastering work.

At the core of Hijacking the Zeitgeist lies a multifaceted exploration of algorithmic rabbit holes, conspiratorial paranoia, and the universal traits that lie within humanity – these cautionary tales are tied together in striking detail with album art by Sebastian Jerke. EXIST treats both the allure and perils of both digital mazes and the real world, with equal parts wide eyed awe and horror.