Skip to main content


August 31, 2023

Helsinki, Finland’s DISGUISED MALIGNANCE has today shared their new single, “Unearthly Extinction.” The track serves as the third song to be taken from the death metal quintet’s forthcoming debut album, Entering The Gateways, which is due to be released on September 29th via Prosthetic Records.

Speaking on “Unearthly Extinction,” vocalist Felix Pennanen comments, “‘Unearthly Extinction’ is a ferocious, groovy, and subtly melodic track that captures the blend of different styles of death metal quite well. The erratic twists and turns together with ear-catching hooks and tasteful leads make for an intense yet memorable death metal brutalizer.”

Stream DISGUISED MALIGNANCE’s “Unearthly Extinction” at THIS LOCATION.

Listen to the band’s previously released single, “Malignant Visions,” HERE and watch their video for “Confined” HERE.

Entering The Gateways will be released on CD, LP, and digitally. For preorders, go to THIS LOCATION.

DISGUISED MALIGNANCE’s formative years up until this point has seen the group operate primarily as a duo, with vocalist Felix Pennanen and bassist Aatos Palmu forming the band in 2021, and carefully constructing the band’s foundational sound of oldschool death metal sensibilities with a calculatedly modern view of technical songwriting embellishments. The young band’s dichotomous approach to the genre was evidenced in their early demo and 2023 promo tapes respectively, before Pennanen and Palmu found themselves with growing ambitions for the band.

Commencing writing and recording in 2022 with their core pairing, DISGUISED MALGINANCE displays a musical chemistry far beyond their years on Entering The Gateways. Frenzied passages careen and jolt forward with a menacing intent, while swarming tremolos and a dexterous rhythmic backbone bring to mind greats such as Demilich and Crytopsy. Written specifically with a solidified quintet in mind, Entering The Gateways ushers DISGUISED MALIGNANCE’s more textured passages into the fold — look no further than “Disengagement Into Eternity” or “Remnants Of Serenity” — that invoke more modern death metal acts such as Tomb Mold and Blood Incantation.

Inspired heavily by Lovecraftian horror and armed with an esoterically eldritch unease at the simultaneously unknown and unknowable, Entering The Gateways oscillates between the physical and the otherworldly throughout its thirty-four minute runtime. DISGUISED MALIGNANCE’s ambitions to take death metal’s elemental parts and impart their own verve and voice into the genre are plain to see on their first full-length, and it’s a testament to their natural talents that Entering The Gateways stands as a bold introduction to the band.

Entering The Gateways Track Listing:

1. Gates To Nihil

2. Confined

3. Unearthly Extinction

4. The Fading Path Of Existence

5. Malignant Visions

6. Remnants Of Serenity

7. Disengagement Into Eternity

8. Beyond (Entering The Gateways)


Felix Pennanen – vocals

Aatos Palmu – bass

Daniel Gamache – guitar

Tuure Suomalainen – guitar

Juuso Hämäläinen – drums