Skip to main content


New Jersey’s SUNROT is preparing to release their first full length album under the Prosthetic Records banner. The Unfailing Rope is due on April 7 and comprises eight tracks of devastating sludge and noise – and promises to afford SUNROT the attention that they so richly deserve.

At times The Unfailing Rope seemed to be a cursed project; recorded no less less than three times before hitting the jackpot with its final iteration, completing the record was a hard-fought battle. Vocalist Lex Santiago was hospitalised between the first and second recordings, suffering from a psychotic episode. Although it may have seemed like an albatross around their necks, The Unfailing Rope eventually provided salvation and catharsis for SUNROT in ways they had never anticipated.

Reflecting on the difficulties they overcame collectively to reach a point where the album was fit for release, the band are resolute in finding joy in the debris of the experience. Whilst the musical output is gritty, venomous and far beyond heavy, it is healing, acceptance and forgiveness that is at the heart of what drives SUNROT forward as a band. Coupled with a DIY ethos that connects them firmly to their roots, SUNROT are determined to be a force for good, despite the pain and darkness embedded in their music.

The third and final recording was captured by Scot Moriarty at Backroom Studios in Rockaway, New Jersey, and later mastered by Magnus Lindberg of Cult of Luna. The trial and error of earlier sessions led to a more precise execution of their vision, a more confident approach and a ultimately more live and organic sounding record than they’d originally anticipated. Their take on sludge is adrenalised by the addition of samples, noise and experimentalism. With guest musicians including Bryan Funck (Thou), Emily McWilliams (Silver Godling), and Blake Harrison (Pig Destroyer) adding embellishments to the core SUNROT sound the final result is electrifying.

SUNROT is very much a product of its environment; The Unfailing Rope an anthology of the lived experiences of authors. From the micro to the macro, personal to political, every scar, every tale is etched into the fabric of The Unfailing Rope with unflinching detail. SUNROT keen to stress that for all of the trauma, loss and catharsis, joy is only just below the surface.

The Unfailing Rope will be released via Prosthetic Records on April 7.

Voice sample on ‘Love’ taken from a brilliant speech by the legendary and prophetic, James Baldwin

Additional vocals and lyrics on ‘Gutter’ by Bryan Funck & Emily McWilliams

Additional vocals on ‘Trepanation’ by Scot Moriarty

Additional noise on ‘Patricide’ by Blake Harrison


Christopher Eustaquio (he/him) – guitar

Rob Gonzalez (he/him) – guitar

Lex Santiago (he/they) – vocals & noise

Alex Dobrowolski (they/them) – drums

Ross Bradley (he/him) – bass