Skip to main content


CREAK are preparing to release their debut full length album; their first material to come out under the Prosthetic Records label banner. Depth Perception is a volatile mix of nu-metal, hardcore and metalcore that will have CREAK swiftly making their way to the upper echelons of the UK underground.

The five piece from Newcastle set out initially to craft a new EP to follow on from 2020’s rapturously-received Bitter Picture vignette, but once writing was underway, the ideas kept on coming. Channeling the same furious vitriol found on their earlier singles and the EP, CREAK managed to push their boundaries further still – finding room for experimentation within their chaotic vision. Citing influences such as Yüth Forever and Sworn In, their background in hardcore is rarely far from view, but eerie Lynchian interludes, clean vocals and metallic sensibilities contribute additional layers that elevate their sound.

Lyrically and thematically the tracks are saturated with pure emotion, fuelled by – amongst other things – the anguish that accompanied vocalist Jack Dunn’s mother’s journey with cancer. Using CREAK as an outlet for his processing his feelings during that time, he comments: “I was feeling guilty about my own emotions, and going over things in a circle in my own head trying to get to a point where I could try to become comfortable with them.” Finding it easier to work through his feelings through his lyrics than to verbalise in ‘real life’, Depth Perception is something of an anthology of dread, pain, mortality – and hope.

The album took shape over several months between 2021 and 2022, with Connor Sweeney (formerly of Loathe) reprising the role he took on for Bitter Picture, producing, mixing and mastering the twelve blistering tracks. The live recording achieves the near-impossible task of capturing the frenetic, unbridled vigor of their live show; their angular metalcore punctuating an eerie soundscape permeated with anxious energy.

With high hopes and boundless enthusiasm, CREAK are gathering pace as an unstoppable force.

Depth Perception will be released by Prosthetic Records on August 18.


Jack Dunn – Vocals

Patrick Morton – Guitar

Reece Boakes – Guitar

Robert Wilkinson – Drums