. . . .

Hailing from the vermin-saturated remains of upstate South Carolina, SLUGCRUST are preparing to release their debut full length, Ecocide, via Prosthetic Records this summer. Featuring members of WVRM, SLUGCRUST embodies true Southern grind in all its grimy, punishing glory.

With two ferocious EPs already under their belts, the breakneck speed with which SLUGCRUST operate gives a fair indicator of their approach. However, their focus isn’t compromised by their accelerated work ethic; if anything the urgency of their message is given further impetus courtesy of their relentless audio violence. Drawing from various literary inspirations the political issues at the heart of SLUGCRUST’s output is given a darkly poetic twist.

SLUGCRUST seeks to bring political issues to light in a way that galvanises action and activism. The title derives from the process of destroying environmental structures or ecosystems, either via natural means or - as is more pertinent in the case of this album - deliberate human actions. Depravity is a recurring theme throughout the lyrics; emotional and physical immorality and degeneracy permeates the twelve tracks that make up Ecocide.

The formation of all SLUGCRUST tracks start with the skeleton of the drums; the meat and muscle of each missive comes from the guitar and bass, with the lyrics and vocals being the skin binding it all together. The album was engineered by guitarist Derrick Caperton, before being mixed and mastered by Cody Davidson of Sanguisugabogg. Although primarily embedded in grindcore, SLUGCRUST also dabbles in crust punk and even doom to bring together their ominous, explosive take on extreme metal. Embracing the rawness of punk with the familiar ferocity of blast beats is the foundation of their work.

Ecocide is an uncompromising calling card from a band eager to unleash.

SLUGCRUST will release Ecocide on 9 September, 2022 via Prosthetic Records.


Jesse Cole - Vocals

Derick Caperton - Guitar

Brett Terrapin - Drums

Stacey Williams - Bass



Jul 22, 2022

South Carolina grind quartet SLUGCRUST have today shared their new single, Drag Me to Agony, and shared an accompanying live music video for the song. Drag Me to Agony is the second track to be taken from their forthcoming debut album, Ecocide, set for release on September 9.

Read More